What are the two parts of the central nervous system in vertebrates?

The nervous system of vertebrates has two main divisions: the central nervous system, consisting of the brain and spinal cord, and the peripheral nervous system, which in humans includes 12 pairs of cranial nerves, 31 pairs of spinal nerves, and the autonomic, or involuntary, nervous system.

What are the two systems of the central nervous system?

The nervous system has two major parts: the central nervous system (CNS) and the peripheral nervous system (PNS). The central system is the primary command center for the body, and is comprised of the brain and spinal cord.

What are the two parts of the central nervous system and what do they do?

The central nervous system (CNS) controls most functions of the body and mind. It consists of two parts: the brain and the spinal cord. The brain is the center of our thoughts, the interpreter of our external environment, and the origin of control over body movement.

What are the parts of the vertebrate central nervous system quizlet?

Terms in this set (9)

  • central nervous system (CNS) the portion of the vertebrate nervous system consisting of the brain and spinal cord.
  • peripheral nervous system (PNS) …
  • autonomic nervous system (ANS) …
  • somatic nervous system (SNS) …
  • dorsal root ganglia. …
  • gray matter. …
  • white matter. …
  • sympathetic nervous system (Sp-NS)
THIS IS INTERESTING:  Question: What can a mental health counselor do?

What is the nervous system of vertebrates?

The vertebrate nervous system includes the brain, brainstem, spinal cord, cranial and peripheral nerves, and ganglia. The vertebrate brain consists of three basic divisions: prosencephalon, mesencephalon, and rhombencephalon.

What is sympathetic and parasympathetic?

The autonomic nervous system comprises two parts- the sympathetic and parasympathetic nervous system. The sympathetic nervous system activates the fight or flight response during a threat or perceived danger, and the parasympathetic nervous system restores the body to a state of calm.

What are the three main parts of the nervous system?

The CNS is comprised of the brain, cerebellum and spinal cord. Remaining neurons, and associated cells, distributed throughout the body form the PNS. The nervous system has three broad functions: sensory input, information processing, and motor output.